Call for Nominations: The Lemkin Book Award

Institute for the Study of Genocide

The Institute for the Study of Genocide’s Lemkin Book Award honors Raphael
Lemkin, the originator of the concept of genocide and first exponent of a
United Nations Genocide Convention. The biennial award recognizes the best
non-fiction book published in English or translated into English that
focuses on explanations of genocide, crimes against humanity, state mass
killings and gross violations of human rights, and strategies to prevent
such crimes and violations. Edited volumes, memoirs, poetry, fiction and
drama are excluded.
The award consists of a citation and honorarium, and the winner is invited
to deliver a public address in New York at a meeting convened by the
Institute for the Study of Genocide.

The 2015 award cycle covers books published in 2013 and 2014. We are now
accepting nominations for books published in the 2013 calendar year
(January 1st-December 31, 2013).


Prior to sending books please contact Lemkin Award Committee Chair,
Professor Ernesto Verdeja at to confirm their eligibility.


The current (2013) award winner is:
Yang Jisheng, “Tombstone: The Great Chinese Famine 1958-1962” (Farrar,
Straus and Giroux, 2012).

Previous winners are:
2011: Emma Gilligan “Terror in Chechnya: Russia and the Tragedy of
Civilians in War” (Princeton, 2009)
2009: Darius Rejali “Torture and Democracy” (Princeton, 2007)
2007: Donald Bloxham “The Great Game of Genocide: Imperialism, Nationalism,
and the Destruction of the Ottoman Armenians” (Oxford, 2005)
2005: Peter Balakian “The Burning Tigris: The Armenian Genocide and
America’s Response” (Harper Collins, 2003)
2003: Samantha Power “A Problem From Hell: America and the Age of Genocide”
(Harper Perennial, 2002)
2000: Alison Des Forges “Leave None to Tell the Story: Genocide in Rwanda”
(Human Rights Watch and FIDH, 1999)

More information on the Institute for the Study of Genocide is available

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *